Roasted Spaghetti Squash Arrabiatta with Spicy Italian Sausage and Pecorino Romano

photo 4 (1)

I have been a little bit obsessed with squash lately. I have no shame in admitting that I could eat squash more than 5 times a week and be incredibly thrilled. I don’t think my husband would be as thrilled, so I try to keep dinners as squash inclusive a maximum of once per week (but of course I sneak squash into my lunches when Casey isn’t around 🙂 ).

photo 1 (2)

The truth is–Casey loves squash now just as much as I do. He and I both have been very skeptical, especially, about spaghetti squash. How is it possible to use a squash to simulate a noodle and how is it possible for the squash to be as tender as pasta? I’ve made spaghetti squash a few times now and it has often not come out successfully–mainly because I do not cook the squash long enough and it ends up resulting in crunchy, chewy (not pasta-like) strands.

photo 2 (1)

If you have yet to fall in love with spaghetti squash, this recipe will accelerate the process. I found that roasting the squash at high heat for quite a while and roasting flesh side down is the best way to get those soft strands that you crave when you want to eat a bowl of pasta. I promise you that this spaghetti squash tastes AS GOOD as regular pasta! I love when healthy tastes good yayy!!

photo 3 (1)

Roasted Spaghetti Squash Arrabiatta with Spicy Italian Sausage and Pecorino Romano

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash

extra virgin olive oil

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper

garlic powder

8 oz spicy italian sausage

24 oz jar of arrabiatta sauce (or any tomato sauce that sounds good)–I love the kind by Racconto

1 cup (or more or less to taste) freshly grated pecorino romano

Preheat oven to 450.

Pierce spaghetti squash all over with a fork. Microwave on a plate for 5 minutes. Remove and when cool enough to handle, slice squash in half lengthwise and scoop out innards. Liberally sprinkle olive oil, kosher salt, pepper, and garlic powder inside both sides of squash and rub in with fingers. Place squash skin side up on baking sheet and cook for 40 minutes.

While the squash cooks, brown sausage in deep skillet with a little olive oil. Once sausage is cooked, add arrabiatta sauce and mix with sausage. Mix in cheese, salt, and pepper to taste.

When squash is cooked and has cooled enough to handle, scoop out squash strands and mix together with sauce in skillet. 

Serve with extra cheese on top, if desired.

Leave a Reply

