Buffalo Chicken Pizza with Blue Cheese Crumbles

Any of you who know me well know that I am NOT a sports fan. It isn’t that I don’t like sports. It’s just that I absolutely do not have the patience or attention span to watch a sports game.

photo 4

HOWEVER

photo 1

I will never say no to watching a sports game on TV or going to a sports game in person. Why you may ask? When I never have a clue what in the world is going on in the game and I tend to cheer at the wrong moments and boo at the wrong moments? When I choose a team to root for based on which costume I like best? Yes, I did just call it a costume. It is also a performance, not a game. And intermission is that time when we are halfway between the beginning and end of the game. But I digress…

photo 2

I LOVE SPORTS BECAUSE I LOVE FOOD!!!!!!!!!! So really, I don’t love sports. I just love the excuse sports give you to indulge in something delicious and greasy (the french fry portion of my green smoothie with a side of fries lifestyle).

photo 3

I made homemade pizza for the Super Bowl…YUM! I used this dough recipe-it seriously is the best-don’t buy store bought! I actually ran low  on bread flour, so I used AP flour instead and the result was still delish. The dough only takes an hour to rise so it really isn’t too big of a time commitment. And even better, you can prepare the toppings while you wait for the dough to rise so there really is hardly any wait time at all.

photo 4

I made two pies-one traditional with pizza sauce (store-bought), fresh basil, herbed salami, and mozzarella (pictured).

photo 5

I also made a buffalo chicken pizza (also pictured) and I will share the recipe for that here. My husband and I are not typically huge buffalo chicken fans but this pizza was AMAZING. Not too spicy but spicy enough to really entice your taste buds. And the blue cheese on top perfectly complemented the buffalo sauce. It was also fairly easy to piece together! Highly recommend!

photo 1

photo 2

Buffalo Chicken Pizza with Blue Cheese Crumbles

Adapted from Food Network

Makes: One pizza

Ingredients:

Prepared pizza dough for one 14 inch pizza (this measurement doesn’t need to be exact)

3/4 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, sliced extremely thin

McCormick Montreal chicken grill seasoning, for sprinkling

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, for sprinkling

Corn meal, for sprinkling  bottom of pizza pan

2 tbsp unsalted butter

1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

2.5 tbsp Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Wing Sauce

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles

3 green onions, chopped

A few big handfuls (to your liking, depending on how much cheese you want) shredded cheese (I recommend a Monterey Jack and Colby blend)

Preheat oven to 425.

Preheat grill pan on high heat. Place chicken breasts on plate and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle grill seasoning on both sides. Grill for 3 minutes per side, until fully cooked through. Remove to plate and let cool slightly.

Melt butter in large skillet and then turn off heat. Mix in worcestershire, hot sauce, and tomato sauce. Slice chicken very thin and mix in with sauce in skillet. 

Sprinkle corn meal on pizza stone or baking sheet. Roll out pizza dough. Spread all the chicken with sauce across the base, leaving room for a crust. I folded over the crust to add some nice texture. Sprinkle desired amount of shredded cheese and blue cheese crumbles. Sprinkle with scallions. 

Bake in oven until golden brown, about 18 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Pizza with Blue Cheese Crumbles

    • What kind of dough recipe did you use? You may want to try a new recipe if the dough isn’t crisp enough. Or, you can try cooking the pizza longer, higher heat (425 is on the low end-450 would work great too), or also try sprinkling the crust with olive oil before adding toppings to allow it to brown nicely in the oven.

Leave a Reply

