Impromptu Late Night Cocoa Brownies

Would you believe me if I told you that my husband has a bigger sweet tooth than I do?

2013-10-22 19.48.59

Good, I’m glad you don’t because that statement is false. There is no way anyone could have a bigger sweet tooth than me.

HOWEVER, I would not hesitate to say that my husband has an equally big sweet tooth!

2013-10-22 19.55.25

The other night I was feeling great because I cooked and we ate a super healthy meal.

2013-10-22 19.55.16

Then Casey’s sweet tooth kicked in and he asked for dessert. Realizing I didn’t have any stocked chocolate bars or ice cream on hand, I started to brainstorm about what I could possibly make with ingredients already in my pantry. I immediately thought of cocoa brownies, because I always have cocoa powder stocked.

2013-10-22 20.31.09

The result was magnificent. So decadent, in fact, that we ate half the batch. I made Casey bring the rest to school the next day for his coworkers so that I wouldn’t eat the second half all on my own (and oh yes, I would…).

2013-10-22 20.33.23

Impromptu Late Night Cocoa Brownies

Ingredients:

10 tbsp (1 stick+ 2 tbsp) unsalted butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

3/4 cup + 2 tbsp cocoa powder (I just used Hershey’s since that was what I had and it worked great)

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs, cold

1/2 cup all purpose flour (not sifted)

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven. Preheat oven to 325. Line 8×8 inch baking dish with parchment paper.

In a medium heat proof bowl, combine butter, sugar, cocoa, and salt. Microwave in 20 second increments (stirring after each time) until ingredients are melted and hot. Set aside until mixture is warm, no longer hot.

With a wooden spoon, stir in the vanilla extract. Add the eggs one at a time and after each addition stir vigorously. Add the flour and stir until no lumps remain. After no lumps remain, stir vigorously for about 40 strokes. Spread batter into lined baking dish.

Bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool (or you can be impatient like Casey and me and eat them hot and let them fall apart a little!) Once brownies cool, they are a lot easier to slice, though!

Recipe courtesy of Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Reply

