The Best Baked Salmon

I realize that title is a little bit overconfident. But I promise you, this salmon is THE BEST EVER.

My step mom is an absolutely amazing cook, and salmon is her specialty. This salmon is adapted from her recipe.  While no salmon I make will ever be remotely as good as my step mom’s (I swear she must use some secret ingredient she isn’t telling me about…maybe the secret ingredient is love 🙂 ), my attempt at making salmon inspired by her recipe came pretty darn close to as good!

2013-10-22 18.46.23

The husband says my presentation needs some work, and I’d have to agree with that. After all we do eat with our eyes before we eat with our taste buds!

I only made 1 half pound fillet and my step mom typically makes a 4 lb fillet, so I guessed a lot with the measurements. I will mark down what I used here, but you should feel free to just put however much you want of each ingredient onto the salmon, and realize that no two pieces of salmon will cook/taste the same. I served the salmon with smashed potatoes made with chives and sour cream. I didn’t love them so I’m not going to share the recipe.

2013-10-22 19.03.59

Have fun experimenting like I did!!

The Best Baked Salmon

Serves 1-2

Ingredients (shown for .5 lb filet–>double, triple, adjust cooking time, etc. depending on size of fish/number of people to feed)

.5 lb salmon fillet (mine had skin on the bottom and once cooked the meat came off super easily but might be better with no skin)

1/8 cup white wine

juice squeezed from 1/2 lemon

4 sprigs fresh dill

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper (my step-mom uses red pepper but I didn’t have that)

garlic powder

olive oil cooking spray

Preheat oven to 375.

Place aluminum foil over cookie sheet and spray foil with cooking spray.

Place salmon on cookie sheet (skin side down if there is skin on it). Pour white wine over salmon. Squeeze lemon juice over salmon (be careful not to let seeds fall onto the salmon). Sprinkle generous amount of kosher salt on salmon. Sprinkle garlic powder and black pepper on salmon. Top fillet with fresh dill.

Bake for approximately 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

