Quinoa Chili with Sweet Potatoes, Black Beans and a Chipotle Cream

It’s football season and the husband wants to eat football foods. Okay, I do too. Actually I mainly like football season because it means I get to cook food appropriate for the game. Last Sunday, the husband requested chili.

photo (20)

And chili, I gave him. Little did he know that the chili I would be making him would be super healthy!

photo (21)

And even more little did he know that this healthy chili would be freaking delicious and just as good as the unhealthy kind!

photo (22)

I also baked some homemade pretzel bread (pictured) but it only came out good, not great, so I am not going to post the recipe here. I don’t think it is worth repeating, and I will work on perfecting that recipe in the mean time and will post one when I get it just right!

photo (23)

Oh yes. This chili is the bomb. I could eat this every day. This chili reinforces my quinoa obsession. I think Casey may be getting obsessed now too. I’m healthy-brain-washing him, Muahaha

photo (25)

Quinoa Chili with Sweet Potatoes, Black Beans and a Chipotle Cream

Servings: about 6

Ingredients:

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1 small yellow onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 large carrots, diced

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

1 tsp cumin

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp+ 2 tsp chipotle tabasco sauce (separated)

1 can (15.5 oz) tomato sauce

2 cups cooked quinoa (any variety is fine)

2 cans (15.5 oz) black beans, drained but not rinsed

4 cups chicken stock (use vegetable stock to make recipe vegetarian)

1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced

1 cup plain fat free greek yogurt

1/2 tsp honey

1/4 tsp dijon

In a large pot or dutch oven, heat oil over medium high. Add onion, garlic, carrots, and salt to taste. Saute for about 5 minutes. 

Stir in turmeric, cinnamon, nutmeg, cumin, chili powder, 1 tsp tabasco sauce, tomato sauce, quinoa, black beans, and chicken stock to pot. Bring to a boil.

Stir in sweet potatoes. Cover and reduce heat to medium. Cook for about 30 minutes, until smell is fragrant and sweet potatoes are tender.

While chili is cooking, make chipotle cream. In a small bowl, stir together greek yogurt, honey, dijon, and 2 tsp tabasco. 

Serve chili with chipotle cream.

Adapted from Ambitious Kitchen

Leave a Reply

