Homemade Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter

I have been staring at an open container of roasted peanuts in my pantry for about a week now. I used these peanuts in a recipe I made last week, and had tons of leftovers. For a while I kept reaching for the container and eating handfuls, but this was just not satisfying enough with the potential that I know this amazing nut has.

photo (5)

So…I started thinking about peanut butter…because I often have this topic on my mind as it is one of my favorite foods.

photo (6)

Then I started thinking about chocolate and peanut butter in combination…because…duh it’s the best.

photo (7)

Then I decided that I had to try to make something out of these peanuts. I decided to make dark chocolate peanut butter.

photo (8)

OH MY GOSH.

Make this. But beware, it will be hard to stop eating.

photo (10)

Even Casey is obsessed with it and peanut butter isn’t something he dreams about nightly like I do.

Dip some pretzels in it. Spread it on toast. Eat it with a spoon (my favorite way). Dip some strawberries in it. Whatever you dip, it will be darn good. In the words of my husband (he actually said this tonight), “anything dipped in chocolate peanut butter is amazing”.

ENJOY!

Homemade Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter

Ingredients:

2 cups cocktail peanuts (or any type of roasted peanut you have on hand-if your peanuts are unsalted, you may want to add a little more salt than 1/4 tsp to the peanut butter)

1/4 tsp kosher salt

3 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2 cup dark cocoa powder

1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

Add peanuts to food processor. Turn on and process for 1 minute. Scrape the sides of the bowl and then process for 3 more minutes, until peanut butter is smooth and creamy. Add salt, oil, cocoa powder, and sugar. Process for 1 minute, until mixture is combined and smooth and creamy. Store in airtight container in fridge for up to one month. 

Adapted from Inspired Taste

4 thoughts on “Homemade Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

