Pre-Workout Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Balls

It is so challenging to find the right thing to eat before a workout. If I eat the wrong food or too much food, I get a cramp or a stomach ache while exercising. If I don’t eat anything at all, I have no energy for the workout to begin with.

photo (5)

I eat one of these balls every morning, about 30 minutes before heading to the gym. They are super yummy and also perfectly mild for an “I-just-woke-up-and-don’t-really-want-anything-to-eat-yet” belly. Since it is so small, you can grab and eat these on the go too. I love the energy eating one of these gives me. Seriously, this is the perfect pre-workout food!

photo (6)

If you don’t like peanut butter/chocolate, then you could play around with the recipe and try other things. Any nut butter would work great in place of the peanut butter, honey could be used instead of the maple syrup, and coconut/nuts would replace the chocolate well. Have fun and mix and match!

photo (7)

Pre-Workout Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Balls

Makes about 12 balls, serving size: 1 ball

Ingredients:

1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter (I use my beloved Crunch Time)

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 heaping scoop chocolate protein powder

3 tbsp ground golden flaxseed (I use this one)

3 tbsp semi-sweet dark chocolate chips (I use this one)

Mix all ingredients together in small/medium bowl. Roll into 12 balls with hands and place on plate. Refrigerate for a few hours to overnight so balls can harden. Store in airtight container for up to 3 weeks in fridge.

Adapted from Happy Being Healthy

Leave a Reply

