Gluten Free Banana Raspberry Bread with Oatmeal and Dark Chocolate

There is something very, very special about homemade banana bread. It is quite possibly one of the easiest things to bake but it always still manages to impress my taste buds.

photo (5)

My good friend Kristin shared this recipe with me, and I was immediately eager to try it when I noticed this was not only a banana bread, but a banana bread loaded with fresh raspberries, dark chocolate, and made with my very favorite breakfast food-oatmeal!

photo (6)

I am not on a gluten-free diet, but I know many who are so I wanted to highlight that this bread is gluten free in the title. I didn’t realize how easy oat flour is to make and I definitely want to try other recipes using oat flour soon.

photo (7)

One thing I loove about this bread is that there is no oil or butter in the recipe. In fact, every ingredient in the recipe is healthy, so that means I can eat as much of it as I want, right?

photo (8)

The raspberries keep the bread moist and makes the flavor pleasantly tangy, the chocolate adds a dessert factor, and then of course there are the incredible bananas that always make for a delicious bread. YUM!

photo (9)

photo (10)

Gluten Free Banana Raspberry Bread with Oatmeal and Dark Chocolate

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients:

3 cups oatmeal (make sure to buy gluten free oats if you would like the recipe to for sure be gluten free)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp kosher salt

3 ripe bananas, mashed with a fork

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 egg whites

1 cup smooshed raspberries

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9×5 inch loaf pan with non-stick butter spray.

To make oat flour, pour oats into blender and blend until oats have flour consistency, about 2 minutes.

Place 2 cups of the oat flour in medium bowl. Whisk in baking powder, baking soda, and salt. 

In bowl of mixer, add bananas, dark brown sugar, vanilla extract, and eggs. Mix for 1-2 minutes until combined. With mixer running, pour in oat flour mixture and mix until combined.

Gently stir in raspberries and chocolate chips. Pour batter into loaf pan and cook until knife just barely comes out clean when inserted into bread, about 35 minutes.

Adapted from Ambitious Kitchen

Leave a Reply

