Dark Chocolate and Sea Salt Covered Butter Toffee

Tomorrow is Casey’s first day of school and I decided that I want to treat him and his coworkers to something special, since it will for sure be a long, busy, and maybe stressful day for all of them.

photo (5)

photo (6)

photo (7)

For my wedding I received the most amazing gift from my bridesmaids. They put together a cookbook for me with recipes from my close friends and family. I will likely be sharing many of these recipes on this blog as I go through and make them, and this is the first one. My good friend Nicole shared this butter toffee recipe with me and it is amazing!! I couldn’t stop eating the toffee once it was finished, and now I have a bit of a sweets tummy ache but it was ALL WORTH IT YUM. I made a few minor variations to Nicole’s recipe, but this recipe is mostly hers and she is amazing!

photo (8)

photo (9)

photo (10)

photo (11)

The reject broken pieces that I held onto to eat later :)

The reject broken pieces that I held onto to eat later 🙂

Dark Chocolate and Sea Salt Covered Butter Toffee

Ingredients:

16 ounces unsalted butter, melted

16 ounces white sugar

3 ounces water

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

24 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

sea salt, for topping

Combine butter, sugar, water, and salt in medium sauce pan. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Lower temperature to medium and heat until mixture reaches 298 degrees on candy thermometer, stirring gently. Remove mixture from heat and stir in vanilla. Pour mixture onto silicone mat or parchment paper lined in a cookie sheet. Using a rubber spatula, spread quickly before the toffee hardens. Allow toffee to cool completely.

While toffee is cooling, melt the chocolate chips in a water bath (bring a small amount of water to a boil in a sauce pan and place a glass bowl with the chocolate chips on top and stir until melted). When toffee is cooled and chocolate is melted, pour half of the chocolate on top of the toffee and spread the chocolate to cover the toffee. Immediately sprinkle with desired amount of sea salt. Place cookie sheet in fridge until chocolate has hardened.

Remove sheet from fridge and carefully flip over the toffee. Coat the other side with the remainder of the melted chocolate and sprinkle on topping. Again, place in fridge until chocolate hardens. Break toffee into bite size pieces and store in air-tight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

