Impromptu bacon, spinach, tomato, and aged asiago frittata

Saturday mornings are one of my favorite times of the weekend. Casey and I sleep in and when we wake up, I get to make us something wonderful for breakfast. Not to say my usual oatmeal and his usual bagel aren’t wonderful too, but it’s nice every once in a while to put a little bit of effort and thought into the  most important meal of the day. I asked Casey what he wanted and he said he’d love an omelette. I decided to go the easier route and make a frittata because my omelette flipping skills still need quite a bit of work. I also tend to over-stuff my omelettes and then they turn into a scramble so I thought I would be much safer in making a frittata. The word frittata may sound fancy, but it is seriously easy to make and it looks pretty and tastes awesome!

This recipe comes from what I could find in my fridge that day, and was not pre-planned. The wonderful thing about a frittata is that it will be good no matter what you put in it. Use this recipe as a guideline, and feel free to substitute anything and everything (except the eggs, of course)! Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture until we were mid-way through eating it so this is the best shot I got…

photo (5)

Impromptu bacon, spinach, tomato, and aged asiago frittata

Feeds 2 very very hungry people or 3-4 normal hungry people (Casey and I have big appetites and we ate the whole thing)

Ingredients:

6 eggs

6 slices bacon

Few handfuls of spinach

Two small tomatoes. Chopped

A cup or so of sharp cheese (I used a leftover aged asiago I had and grated it fresh)-parmesan, manchego, iberico, pecorino would all be great too

Splash of skim milk

1 tsp butter (I used smart balance)

Ketchup, for serving

Preheat oven to 450. Heat a large non-stick skillet to medium and cook bacon until crisp. Remove bacon from pan and reserve bacon grease. Blot oil off of bacon with a paper towel and crumble into bite size pieces. Add spinach to hot skillet with bacon grease and cook until just wilted, about 1 minute. Remove spinach from skillet. Beat eggs and milk in a medium bowl. Stir in cheese to egg mixture. Heat large oven-proof skillet over medium heat and melt butter. Pour egg mixture into pan. Sprinkle bacon, tomatoes, and spinach evenly throughout egg mixture in skillet. Transfer skillet to oven and cook until eggs are cooked and the sides and bottom of frittata are golden brown, about 10 minutes. Serve with ketchup, if desired.  

One thought on “Impromptu bacon, spinach, tomato, and aged asiago frittata

Leave a Reply

