My favorite hummus

Hummus is another thing like peanut butter that I pretty much like no matter what kind it is. However, this hummus recipe I am going to share with you is by far my favorite at-home hummus recipe. I say “at-home” because I have not been successful in replicating the hummus that they serve at great mediterranean restaurants. One day I might be able to perfect the recipe to be that good. But for now, this recipe is pretty darn awesome.

photo (4) photo (5)

I make this hummus every few weeks because it is a constant request from Casey (the husband). He likes it as a lunch time side with pita. Me? I like dipping carrots, red peppers, and cherry tomatoes in it. You could dip anything savory in it and it would probably be delicious.

photo (6)

Tomorrow Casey and I are going to a get-together at his co-worker’s place to celebrate the beginning of a new school year for their department. Casey, not surprisingly, requested that I make this hummus.  I hope it is a crowd pleaser!

photo (7)

 

photo (8)

My Favorite Hummus

Makes just under 4 cups of hummus (and this recipe can easily be halved)

Ingredients:

2 15 oz. cans chickpeas, drained but not rinsed

1 cup tahini paste (I order mine on amazon)

4 tbsp fresh lemon juice

4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped

1.5 tsp kosher salt

8 tbsp water (separated)

In a food processor, blend the chickpeas until powdery clumps form, a full minute, scraping down the sides. Add the tahini, lemon juice, garlic and salt and blend until pureed. With the machine running, drizzle in water, 1 tablespoon at a time, until you get very smooth, light and creamy mixture (I find 8 tbsp is the perfect amount). Pour into serving dish and drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle with paprika, if desired.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

 

 

Leave a Reply

